Nothing kills a production like too much exposition

20130621-125023.jpg

“We were walking toward the fountain, the epicenter of activity, when an older couple stopped and openly observed us. Robert enjoyed being noticed, and he affectionately squeezed my hand.

“oh, take their picture,” said the woman to her bemused husband, “I think they’re artists.”

“Oh, go on,” he shrugged. “They’re just kids.”
― Patti Smith, Just Kids

I’m 21.

I’ve had an awesome life. Good school. Great parents. I’m an overachiever. Science and Maths geek. For the past 4 years I’ve been studying musical theatre. My 4th year is part time thesis work while I work jobs to support myself. It’s a new phase:

the awkward transition between student and adult

No matter what you study or do, that phase where you’re independent but still under your parents roof, are more frequently the designated driver, when if you get sick… You have to take your own sorry ass to the doc and pay for it…. Yeah that phase, happens to pretty much everyone.

20130621-115102.jpg

Yep I’m in my 20s. About to finish studying, and about to commit to jobs that I might not enjoy or that hold me back so I can pay for things like car services and gynecologists. I’m starting to realize that almost all the boys at *insert student party venue* (hatfield square) are too young for you but anyone in the working realm seems too damn old and boring.

We’re all trying to answer questions.

who am I?

Errr…. Ok… I donno, can change slightly depending on the boyfriend who last broke my heart… Or my most recent hourly epiphany…

Ok so
I like shopping. Definitely. Clothes, shoes, accessories.
I like performing.
I like gym and running.
I like drinking…. A bit too much
I like smart people… And men with abs… The two don’t often come in one
I like renting box sets of sexandthecity
I like writing music, singing etc and generally creating things

I don’t like glee
I don’t like stupid people who think they’re smart
I don’t like rude hipsters (probably because I’ve always secretly wanted to be one)
I really don’t like frogs… They scare me
And I’m baffled by gambling

I drink copious amounts of tea. And coffee in phases. And have an unhealthy addiction to peanut butter.

I fall in love, and get heart broken easily
I am a retard and frequently an emotional roller coaster.
I’m not clingy…. But I’m needy.

Cool…. That will do.

what do I want from life

Shit…. That’s where I get stuck.

Errrmmm have we lived enough of life to know? And what if you spend half your life working towards something only to find out its not what you want!?

what next

Well, after stressing about how I couldn’t arrange a holiday because I might miss work or auditions, and if I did book one I’d have to ask for leave etc… I realized revelation … I have the rest of my life for this! Responsibilities will only increase. THUS… I will travel after my cabaret contract ends (and I finish my *has mini panic attack* thesis). I will get up and go while I still can. Before life ties me down!

I wanna explore. Create. Be free. Be retarded and not grow up and regret that I never lived it up in my youth. Cheesy but true. After all…. We are always just kids in one way or another.

20130621-122206.jpg

Leave a Reply

